Respectful Sunday Chill.

“It is also good to love: because love is difficult. For one human being to love another human being: that is perhaps the most difficult task that has been entrusted to us, the ultimate task, the final test and proof, the work for which all other work is merely preperation”

– Rainer Maria Rilke.

“Respect for ourselves guides our morals, respect for others guides our manners.”

– Laurence Sterne.

tumblr_n8542xp7le1qgngcgo1_1280 full_Linda_Rodin_Editorial_Chapter_Hero

“A true gentleman is one that apologizes anyways, even though he has not offended a lady intentionally. He is in a class all of his own because he knows the value of a woman’s heart.”

– Shannon L. Alder.

“I have no right, by anything I do or say, to demean a human being in his own eyes. What matters is not what I think of him; it is what he thinks of himself. To undermine a man’s self-respect is a sin.”

– Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

tumblr_njgr7bt0ow1qc91i1o1_1280 tumblr_m5q18lNSvy1qf80m9o1_500 tumblr_lv5w90wJ8B1qm4xtpo1_1280 3multi

“Do you remember the way the girls
would call out “love you!”
conveniently leaving out the “I”
as if they didn’t want to commit
to their own declarations.
And I agree that the “I” is a pretty heavy concept”

– David Berman

ROBERT MOORE, 1931 Arwa Abouon, I’m Sorry, I Forgive You (Sorry Mama), 2012

“Have a big enough heart to love unconditionally, and a broad enough mind to embrace the differences that make each of us unique.”

–  D.B. Harrop.

“Well, we all make mistakes, dear, so just put it behind you. We should regret our mistakes and learn from them, but never carry them forward into the future with us.”

– L.M. Montgomery.

tumblr_nojn3g0TOY1utlqpzo1_540 tumblr_n643qpIIbh1r6y3u1o1_1280 tumblr_n6ds2cyQQg1smyemwo1_1280 Joan Miro’s studio in Palma de Mallorca.

“(…)because Miss Temple has generally something to say which is newer than my own reflections; her language is singularly agreeable to me, and the information she communicates is often just what I wished to gain.”
“Well, then, with Miss Temple you are good?”
“Yes, in a passive way: I make no effort; I follow as inclination guides me. There is no merit in such goodness.”
“A great deal: you are good to those who are good to you. It is all I ever desire to be. If people were always kind and obedient to those who are cruel and unjust, the wicked people would have it all their own way: they would never feel afraid, and so
they would never alter, but would grow worse and worse. When we are struck at without a reason, we should strike back again very hard; I am sure we should—so hard as to teach the person who struck us never to do it again.”
“You will change your mind, I hope, when you grow older: as yet you are but a little untaught girl.”
“But I feel this, Helen; I must dislike those who, whatever I do to please them, persist in disliking me; I must resist those who punish me unjustly. It is as natural as that I should love those who show me affection, or submit to punishment when I feel it is deserved.”
“Heathens and savage tribes hold that doctrine, but Christians and civilised nations disown it.” “How? I don’t understand.”
“It is not violence that best overcomes hate—nor vengeance that most certainly heals injury.”
“What then?”
“Read the New Testament, and observe what Christ says, and how He acts; make His word your rule, and His conduct your example.”
“What does He say?”
“Love your enemies; bless them that curse you; do good to them that hate you and despitefully use you.”

– Charlotte Brontë.

tumblr_mk0wy4tWM61rh1wv4o1_500 tumblr_m4394fO50y1qzs19jo1_500

“Above all, don’t lie to yourself. The man who lies to himself and listens to his own lie comes to a point that he cannot distinguish the truth within him, or around him, and so loses all respect for himself and for others. And having no respect he ceases to love.”

– Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

“We are sun and moon, dear friend; we are sea and land. It is not our purpose to become each other; it is to recognize each other, to learn to see the other and honor him for what he is: each the other’s opposite and complement.”

– Hermann Hesse.

jules de bilancourt hm-conscious-spring-2014-lookbook5-612x816

Leave a Reply

